None file to run for open Monona mayoral seat

   MONONA — Monona’s open mayoral seat will be filled via write-in vote after no individuals filed papers to run for the position, which is being vacated by Lynn Martinson at the end of the year.

   The filing period for mayoral, city council and school board seats ended last week. In addition to the mayoral spot, one Monona City Council seat will also be filled by write-in vote.

   Four of the city’s five Council seats are up for election this year, as three seats are scheduled for election and a fourth, currently held by Tim Wright, is up for the remaining two years of the term. Incumbents Andy Meyer and Heather Lange filed papers to run for reelection to seats they currently hold while Wright is running for election for the first time after having been appointed to the council to fill the seat vacated when Doug Bachman resigned from the Council.

   A third four-year term on the Council is open after Dan Havlicek opted not to run for reelection after having served the past eight years.

   Seats are also open in both surrounding communities and on the MFL MarMac School Board.


For MFL MarMac School Board candidates and candidates from surrounding communities, see the Sept. 25 Outlook, available at area retailers. Call 563-539-4554 to subscribe.