Midterm election preview - Q & A

   The 2018 Midterm Election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 6. Up for election are several Clayton County positions, including two Supervisor spots, as well as Iowa’s governor, the District One congressional seat and a pair of local state house of representative seats.

   This Q & A should answer many of the questions you have about this year’s election.


When can I vote?

   Polls will be open at 7 a.m. and stay open until 9 p.m.


Will I need to prove my identity?


   During Tuesday’s election you will be asked to show an ID before voting at the polls. Acceptable forms of identification include a driver’s license, Non-Operator ID Card, Military ID, Passport, Tribal ID, Veteran’s ID or Voter ID Card. If you do not have the necessary ID, you will be required to sign an oath verifying your identity.

   In future elections, those without the proper ID will be offered a provisional ballot and then be required to show an ID prior to the county canvass.


Where do I vote?

   Most of you will vote at the same place you have in the past, though there has been some consolidation of polling places this year. The following is a list of polling places, as provided by Clayton County Auditor Jennifer Garms.

   Boardman Township (including the community of Elkader) — Central State Bank, Elkader

   Clayton Township (including the community of Clayton) — Garnavillo Community Building

   Farmersburg Township (including the community of Farmersburg) — Farmersburg Community Center

   Garnavillo Township (including the community of Garnavillo) — Garnavillo Community Building

   Giard Township — Monona Community Center

   Grand Meadow Township (including the Clayton County portion of the community of Postville) — Monona Community Center.

   Highland Township — Central State Bank, Elkader

   Mendon Township (including the communities of McGregor and Marquette) — Marquette Community Center.

   Monona Township (including the communities of Luana and Monona) — Monona Community Center.

   Read Township — Garnavillo Community Building.

   Wagner Township (including the community of St. Olaf) — Farmersburg Community Center


   If you still have questions, check the Clayton County elections web site, http://claytoncountyia.gov/177/Voting-Precincts.


What Congressional District

am I in?

   Voters in northeast Iowa are in the First U.S. Congressional District and State Senate District 28.

   Most Clayton and all Allamakee County voters are in State House District No. 56, though those of you living in Boardman, Highland and Marion Townships, including the community of Elkader, are in House District No. 55.


Can I vote absentee?

   Unless you already have an absentee ballot, no.

   Voters were required to apply for an absentee ballot by 5 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 26. If you applied by that date and received your absentee ballot, you may mail it by the end of the day Monday (Nov. 5) or deliver it in person to the county auditor’s office before the polls close on Tuesday.

   If you requested an absentee ballot but instead wish to vote in person, you must turn in your absentee ballot before you are allowed to vote.


Can I vote straight party?


   Iowa eliminated straight-party voting during the 2017 legislative session. This election is the first that the option to vote straight party is not on the ballot.

   Iowa had been one of only 10 states to offer straight-party voting, According to Politico, one in three Iowans had used the straight-party option to vote during past elections.


What if I’m not registered to vote?

   Most people can register on election day. To do so, you must bring proof of identification (a driver’s license, passport, military ID, employer-issued ID card, college or high school student ID, non-driver ID card or a tribal ID) as well as proof of residence if your ID does not contain your current address.