Doeppke, Keehner elected Clayton County Supervisor

Republicans Sharon Keehner and Steve Doeppke will be Clayton County's new supervisors after scoring resounding victories in Tuesday's mid-term election.

Keehner, a teacher from Guttenberg, finished with 4,353 votes while Doeppke, a former Iowa DOT worker from Elkader finished with 4,284 votes. They outdistanced Democrats Joleen Jansen (2,871) and Richard Dinan (2,257).

County Treasurer Linda Zuercher, Record Sue Meyer and Attorney Alan Heavens ran unopposed, with each collecting more than 98 percent of votes in their respective elections.

Clayton County also favored Republicans in most state and national races, including the State House District 56 race, where they provided the winning margin in Michael Bergan's razor-thin victory over Clayton County native Kayla Koether. Bergan's victory over Koether was by just eight votes, meaning that Koether could request a recount.


For complete results, see the Nov. 14 Outlook.